2016 Annual IDSA Merit Awards

Tues 12 Apr 2016 — The annual IDSA (Industrial Designers Society of America) awards for outstanding work by senior industrial design students were presented on Tuesday evening in ABC. Presentations of student work were made by students and faculty in the Schelfhaudt Gallery, followed by discussions by the jury to award the best work.

Judges from the NYC and CT business and corporate design community review all senior industrial design portfolios and select one senior to receive the yearly IDSA Merit Award, and to represent the University of Bridgeport at the IDSA North East Conference in NYC. The selected student then presents their work along with Merit Award winners from all the other design schools in the North East and Canada.


Meng (Morgan) Liu won this year!
Morgan is an exceptional student. She is graduating with the highest honors (Summa cum Laude) and was accepted into the MFA program at RIT (Rochester Institute of Technology) for Fall 2016.


The judges this year were:
1. Taesuk Yang, Industrial Designer, Legrand US
2. Amelia Amon, Principal, Alt Technica, http://www.alt-technica.com/
3. Joe Toro, Industrial Design Director, Intelligent Product Solutions, www.intelligentdesignsolutions.com
4. David Lickstein, Global Packaging Design Manager, Unilever
5. Rhianna O’Toole, Industrial Designer, Unilever
6. David Kaiser, President; Spark Design, LLC
7. Ning XUE, Industrial Designers, Thin Air

Written by sasd